Fundamental problem with Religion

Written in 2008-

Before I get into this post just a few things I’d like to clarify, this was written when I was 17, during this time I was attending a private school and studying religion. To be c honest my family is a Christian household but with the influence of my grandmother that adapted many things from multiple different belief structures completely I had a very open mind towards other religions but in the long run, don’t classify myself as a very religious person.

By me writing this I am not trying to cause any offence towards any social group nor use this to put any other religious group above any other, these writings are pure speculation and thoughts on pros and cons in multiple sects of religious living, so don’t start sending threats just take these thoughts as they are and leave it at that.

Today we were asked to put forward or thoughts on different religions, we were asked to come to the front of the class and write our thoughts on the board, so that we could see the differing opinions of different beliefs, from the way the teacher took my contributions to the class, I DON’T THINK HE LIKES THE WAY I THINK, so with that here is the things I wrote on the board:

  • Christianity– you are told not to sin because upon death you face divine judgment and upon the end of the judgement you will either spend all eternity in the light of heaven or burn in the fire of hell, but due to the ever-changing lifestyle of the human race almost everything is classified as a sin these days and it’s almost impossible not to piss off god even though he himself sins more than all of us, he’s a little pervy. But from the core beliefs of Christianity if one does run over a person whilst kissing his neighbor’s wife whilst in a stolen car, as long as you repent your sins you are forever forgiven in the eyes of god, so heaven must be a pretty shitty place.
  • Islam– has the same end game as Christianity but they don’t believe in having priests because it is against the virtues of the one true god, but the big issues are some of the things they condemn as sins are very archaic, if one wishes to eat something they must check if it is purer than silk, we can not devote ourselves to worldly figures of high stature meaning no superheroes. but if one even opens one’s self to the beliefs of any other religion, its a straight shot to hell.
  • Hinduism– the way we live life is then judged in the end and we are either rewarded or punished for the life we had led, they also believe that all living things have souls and depending on how good or bad we are the higher or lower we move on the ladder of rebirth. For example, you’re good you move towards a higher plain of existence depending on whether this is your first or second good life but if you’re bad you move down and will become some form of animal. So therefore the burger i just ate could have been one of my relatives.
  • Buddhism– has the same belief structure as Hinduism, you do well your next life will be good, do bad and your next life will be bad. Besides this in the Tibetan side of Buddhism it is believed that people who do bad things are still being controlled by the animalistic tendencies of their previous life and have no way to change them, so therefore if I do bad there is nothing I can do because the dog in me won’t piss off until I die.

The teacher asked me why I have no faith and would choose to try and be funny at the cost of insulting the beliefs of millions of people, I then responded with “Dogma, if god came down and said to you everything you know about faith is wrong then by your Faith, you would believe him”.

a wise man once said “It’s not about who’s right or wrong. No denomination’s nailed it yet, because they’re all too self-righteous to realize that it doesn’t matter what you have faith in, just that you have faith. Your hearts are in the right place, but your brains gotta to wake up.”- Kevin Smith-Dogma(1999)

